Women’s Club History

Yass Women’s Bowling Club

Since the formation of the Yass Women’s Bowling Club in 1955, the women’s contribution has been of inestimable value – they have become an invaluable part of Club life both on and off the greens. Bowling –wise over the years some excellent bowlers have come through the ranks – this is still the case today and , of course off the greens, their efforts on the social side have always been first class. It has to be recorded here that in the early days and (when under the helm of Jess Keith) their contribution by way of catering for functions has been magnificent and had a tremendous effect in reducing overall club indebtedness.

The foundation President of the Yass Bowling Club was Myrtle Simpson, with the first Secretary being F.James and Treasurer V.Culverwell. The first Patroness was Mrs S.H.Money-Walker.

The Yass Women’s Bowling Club was a foundation Club of the Federal District Women’s Bowling Association – Canberra and Queanbeyan being the other two.

The incumbent President of the Yass Women’s Bowling Club, Mary Wellisch, was a foundation Vice-President of the F.D.W.B.A. and was a patroness of that body. Additionally she served a term as President of the Past Presidents Association and was a Life Member and Patroness of the Yass Women’s Bowling Club until her sad passing in 2009.

Success on the greens came in the following years.

Federal District Women’s Bowling Association

Year Pennant

1959/60 ‘B’

1960/61 No.2

1980/81 No.3

1981/82 No.4

1989/90 No.2

The years 1981/82 and 1989/90 saw the Club play-off in Sydney for the State Titles.

Mention must be made of 1985 in which Mavis Britt, a first year bowler won the Club’s Novice, Minor and Major Singles Championships, an outstanding achievement for which she received a presentation from the R.N.S.W.W.B.A. Ladies President on her visit to Yass for their 30th Birthday Celebrations held on the 21st August 1985. Mavis proved to be one of our class bowlers even winning the prestigious ACT Champion of Champions title in 1995 and 1996.